Still Growing Strong in 2021 – Progress Pictures

Posted on

My hair routine has stayed the same and I’m continuing to see growth. But this summer humidity and these Florida storms are doing a number on my twist outs. I can’t keep a neat twist out for more than two days some weeks. Fortunately I love my hair whether it’s day one or day seven of a style, so I just ride it out until my next wash day no matter how wild it is.😃 In the last picture below (June 2021), it’s only been three days since my last twist out. My hair doesn’t usually look like this until day eight (past due for wash day)!

The only thing I’ve added to my routine is a light dusting. I was concerned about the heat damage that happened when I had my hair straightened at the salon (and then I straightened it again the next day) back in 2019. My hair is still dealing with the effects of that in some areas, particularly in the bangs. After having it straightened in 2020, I thankfully didn’t notice any additional damage, but this year I’ll be taking a break from having it straightened, and colored (black). Since that means no salon visit this year, I’ve had to handle my own trimming, which I did after blow drying. I’ve done it twice this year so far, and I probably won’t do it again until next year.

Another thing is that I’m definitely a slow grower. As you can see from 2020 to 2021, I definitely am not retaining 6 inches of hair growth each year. More like three, if that. But I’m glad to see some progress. One of my favorite YouTubers, KayDeeTV, was also a slow grower, and now 8 years after she went natural her hair is past waist length. I’m making about the same amount of progress that she did at my stage, so I think it’s going well. My hair is about 13-15 inches long all around except the bangs, which are 6 inches AND thinning. In December it’ll be four years since my last relaxer. Only 4-ish more to go until waist length! I’m 5’10” so that will be quite the long journey. 😊

I never even thought waist length was possible, and I never would have considered it before now. I just achieved bra-strap length (BSL) a month or so ago for the first time in my life, and I’m excited to see where the rest of this hair journey takes me. I definitely see a big haircut coming at some point after waist length because I really miss my shorter twist out, but I don’t see that coming any time soon. I want to see how far my hair can go. Stay tuned!

Leave a comment